Applying for the green card in US ep.1

It’s been a month since I posted the first one about this topic. I researched A LOT (I mean a lot a lot) about specific process and basically felt that..yeah, I understand why people hire a lawyer for this. It is extremely complicated process that could screw you (and your family member) over with a few mistakes. I do recommend you, at this point, to hire a lawyer ONLY IF 1) your time is valuable and/or 2) you wouldn’t jeopardize your status in the state due to some mistakes you could make over some dollars for the lawyer. None of  above apply to me so that I am continuing my posting here.

One thing that I learned (I am still in the process, but I felt it’s necessary to post where I am) is that applying for the green card is a goal of so many different kinds of visa status. For example, you could be a spouse of a US citizen or you need to apply for the green card because you recently got a job in the state or it could be religious reason or you are a refugee. Each applicant I mentioned will have to follow different steps of the application process. That being said, I will mention my specific visa status, why I am applying for the green card, and my family status on very first part of each post to remind readers.

I am an international student from South Korea, working on my PhD. Thus, my visa status in the state is F-1. I am applying for the green card through marriage with my wife. I have been living with her since 2014 and we have a child together.

In this particular case, applications you need to submit are
1) I-130 – Petition for Alien Relative
2) I-130A – Supplemental Information for Spouse Beneficiary
3) I-693 – Report of Medical Examination and Vaccination Record
4) I-485 – Application to Register Permanent Residence or Adjust Status
5) I-864 – Affidavit of Support Under Section 213A of the INA
6) I-864A – Contract Between Sponsor and Household Member
7) (Optional but recommended) I-765 – Application for Employment Authorization
8) (Optional but recommended) I-131 – Application for Travel Document

All forms above are available from the USCIS website and instruction documents are provided together. Instructions are extremely helpful, although it could be confusing.

You (beneficiary, a person applying for the green card) and your spouse (the sponsor, a us citizen) will work together to fill out those forms and pack them all together and send it to one place. Fee is hurtful. Once I realized that total fee is more than $2,000, I thought US government is SELLING the right to reside in the country. This total cost, almost surely, will vary in different situations so I will specifically mention the cost part as well.

 

Leave a comment